Executing the same command on different servers: pssh

With pssh (parallel-ssh) you can execute the same command on different hosts.

Pssh is a simple python script, the uses pretty much no python module, so it’s simple to install (it’s also packaged at least in ubuntu).

To use pssh, you need to create a hosts file which contains a list of hosts (one by line) followed by a username to use on that host, then just execute this command parallel-ssh -h hosts-file "command", it will execute “command” on all the hosts that are in the given hosts-file. I copied my ssh public-key so I don’t need to type my password on any server, if you don’t have your key, pssh will prompt for a password.
Pssh has a --print option that prints the output of the command execution, host by host, on the shell you’re launching pssh from, if you don’t use that option , it creates 1 file per host with the result.

Pssh is really nice, but, would be better if I could use the aliases I use in my .ssh/config for hostnames in my hosts-file. Maybe one day, I’ll make a patch to pssh so it uses your .ssh/config to recognize hosts and users in your hosts-file. Nice tool, anyway !

Leave a Reply

